How it ought to be for the most peaceful people on earth

Monks on the beach

An image of joy and peace (thanks to my colleague Steffen, who shared it with me a long time ago) as I am reading the sad news about the violence and pain inflicted onto Birmanian Buddhist monks, who must be among the most peaceful people on earth, in their fight for freedom and democracy.

One thought on “How it ought to be for the most peaceful people on earth

  1. This sad fact reminds me the poem “Lines Written In Early Spring composed by William Wordsworth”

    I HEARD a thousand blended notes,
    While in a grove I sate reclined,
    In that sweet mood when pleasant thoughts
    Bring sad thoughts to the mind.

    To her fair works did Nature link
    The human soul that through me ran;
    And much it grieved my heart to think
    What man has made of man.

    Through primrose tufts, in that green bower,
    The periwinkle trailed its wreaths;
    And ’tis my faith that every flower
    Enjoys the air it breathes.

    The birds around me hopped and played,
    Their thoughts I cannot measure:—
    But the least motion which they made,
    It seemed a thrill of pleasure.

    The budding twigs spread out their fan,
    To catch the breezy air;
    And I must think, do all I can,
    That there was pleasure there.

    If this belief from heaven be sent,
    If such be Nature’s holy plan,
    Have I not reason to lament
    What man has made of man?
    ___________________________________

    I think we ought to lament and complain against the merciless barbarity of the despotic and tyrannical Burmese government

Leave a Reply

