The secret sauce in the Google+ design: AngelList

In the couple of weeks since Google+ was unveiled, oceans of digital ink have been poured in reviewing the service, sharing tips and tricks, loving/hating Google for it, as well as in the ultimately futile exercise of predicting whether it will succeed.

I have abstained from such predictions. I have not yet, however, come across any commenters remarking on the Google+ look and feel: it seems to me very much that it took its inspiration from AngelList, the business angels hangout started by Naval Ravikant and Babak Nivi. That is, perhaps, because it is (rightly) difficult to get invited to join AngelList, and therefore a lot fewer people have access to it than to Google+.

But if you look at two screenshots, the resemblance is evident. I sometimes have trouble telling which page I’m on. (Then, of course, I read the content). Do you share this feeling?

8 thoughts on “The secret sauce in the Google+ design: AngelList

  1. Pingback: Quora

  2. Pingback: wrote a post to Quora (product). « « Quora Town Quora Town

  3. @Paola – “That is, perhaps, because it is (rightly) difficult to get invited to join AngelList, and therefore a lot fewer people have access to it than to Google+.”

    A counter example – I can only speak for startups who can sign up with a business idea eg http://angel.co/kwiq cleantech energy SaaS :)
    However the exclusivity from Google+ has been absolute for me
    So I see it more as Angellist+ vs Google –

    Angellist – a great service, I have not seen the investors yet but we’re working on that Navi / Naval – Help ;)
    Google+ for me has been like getting an invite to speak at TED and then being turned away at the door on the day

  4. Pingback: Case for Quora+ :  How [and why] i made Quora work for me the way Google+ and AngelList do! « Minimalist way

  5. I think Google+ copied Diaspora more, but there’s definitely some Angelist similarities. When all three services are trying to have minimalist/functional UI’s this tends to happen.

Leave a Reply

